Sunday, August 11, 2013

Fairy Tale Novels: Books 1-3

"Once Upon a Time in New York City..."
Bookworm's Ranking - 5 Worms
Storyline -

Shadow of the Bear - Blanche and Rose are trying to fit into their new world of New York City after their father died a year ago. School, the city, and their mother at work are all new. Rose finds it magical while Blanche is frightened of it. So when a ragged, dread lock boy who calls himself Bear shows up on their doorstep, they both take different approaches to him. Slowly, they become friends. But as a deep secret of Bear's starts come into their lives, the girls investigate, mixing themselves up in the mess. But this mystery could cost them their lives.

Black as Night - Blanche is on the run and hiding with seven frier's to escape someone who wants her dead while Bear is overseas. Upon his return, Bear searches for Blanche and looks into what lead to her disappearance. As Blanche gets comfortable with the frier's, she looks into the mystery as attacks on her life continue. As Bear, Blanche, and the killer move in together, it will take all their courage to over face the evil plaguing them.

Waking Rose - Rose is starting college and trying to forget Fish, Bear's brother, who she desperately in love with. Fish, on the other hand, doesn't return the feeling, and is dealing with his own problems. As Rose settles in to her dorm, she makes new friends and gets to know these crazy boys who seem to have a lot in common with her. But then tragedy strikes and Rose ends up in a coma. As the months ware on, Fish starts investigating the accident... and starts to think that what happened was more than just an accident.

Author - Regina Doman

Publisher - Chesterton Press

Age Group - 16 and up

Content - *May Contain Spoilers* The characters are unwilling to let the evil win and do fight for their friends and what is right. Their belief in God helps them to keep going. Adult issues come up in the books. Lots of fighting but not graphic.

Personal Opinion - Some of the best books I have ever read and some of the most believable characters and storylines. They are excellent retellings, showing how real life can reflect fairy tales. The girls, and guys, are great role models. The characters aren't perfect people but they do their best. They do their best to live Christian lives but make mistakes on occasion and have real struggles. I love how a bit of the fairy tale is at the beginning of each chapter so you can see how it is adapted. Regina Doman is the best and her books are worth the money.

Buy - Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Publisher,

Special Notes - If you are thinking about reading this series, read Shadow of the Bear first. The books can be read individually but thing in previous books will be spoiled if read out of order.

To read or comment on this and other reviews, stop by Bookworm

No comments:

Post a Comment